Skip to content

The Green Marketing Company: Marketing Quotes

September 28, 2011

Marketing Quotes

A good advertisement is one which sells the product without drawing attention to itself.

David Ogilvy

Advertising is a business of words, but advertising agencies are infested with men and women who cannot write. They cannot write advertisements, and they cannot write plans. They are helpless as deaf mutes on the stage of the Metropolitan Opera.

David Ogilvy

Advertising is only evil when it advertises evil things.

David Ogilvy

Advertising people who ignore research are as dangerous as generals who ignore decodes of enemy signals.

David Ogilvy

Advertising reflects the mores of society, but it does not influence them.

David Ogilvy

Can advertising foist an inferior product on the consumer? Bitter experience has taught me that it cannot. On those rare occasions when I have advertised products which consumer tests have found inferior to other products in the same field, the results have been disastrous.

David Ogilvy

Develop your eccentricities while you are young. That way, when you get old, people won’t think you’re going gaga.

David Ogilvy

Does advertising corrupt editors? Yes it does, but fewer editors than you may suppose… the vast majority of editors are incorruptible.

David Ogilvy

Don’t bunt. Aim out of the ball park. Aim for the company of immortals.

David Ogilvy

Every advertisement should be thought of as a contribution to the complex symbol which is the brand image.

David Ogilvy

First, make yourself a reputation for being a creative genius. Second, surround yourself with partners who are better than you are. Third, leave them to go get on with it.

David Ogilvy

Good copy can’t be written with tongue in cheek, written just for a living. You’ve got to believe in the product.

David Ogilvy

Hire people who are better than you are, then leave them to get on with it. Look for people who will aim for the remarkable, who will not settle for the routine.

David Ogilvy

I avoid clients for whom advertising is only a marginal factor in their marketing mix. They have an awkward tendency to raid their advertising appropriations whenever they need cash for other purposes.

David Ogilvy

I did not feel ‘evil’ when I wrote advertisements for Puerto Rico. They helped attract industry and tourists to a country which had been living on the edge of starvation for 400 years.

David Ogilvy

I do not regard advertising as entertainment or an art form, but as a medium of information.

David Ogilvy

I don’t know the rules of grammar… If you’re trying to persuade people to do something, or buy something, it seems to me you should use their language, the language they use every day, the language in which they think. We try to write in the vernacular.
David Ogilvy

I have a theory that the best ads come from
personal experience. Some of the good ones I have done have really come out of
the real experience of my life, and somehow this has come over as true and valid
and persuasive.
David Ogilvy

I notice increasing reluctance on the
part of marketing executives to use judgment; they are coming to rely too much
on research, and they use it as a drunkard uses a lamp post for support, rather
than for illumination.
David Ogilvy

If each of us hires people who
are smaller than we are, we shall become a company of dwarfs. But if each of us
hires people who are bigger than we are, we shall become a company of giants.

David Ogilvy

Actually, I majored in marketing and I have a bachelor of
science.
Wanda Sykes

Affiliate marketing has made businesses
millions and ordinary people millionaires.
Bo Bennett

And let’s be
clear: It’s not enough just to limit ads for foods that aren’t healthy. It’s
also going to be critical to increase marketing for foods that are healthy.

Michelle Obama

Any change in form produces a fear of change, and
that has accelerated. Marketing is the death of invention, because marketing
deals with the familiar.
Nicolas Roeg

Any real record person knows
that the number one most powerful marketing tool when it comes to music is
repetition.
Nile Rodgers

Apple has great marketing, among the best
PR and marketing in the world.
Ron Johnson

Avon invented the concept
of direct marketing and direct selling beauty. And that’s still very valid to
us. We’ll have a firm that will be around for another 114 years as strongly as
it was the first 114.
Andrea Jung

Business has only two functions –
marketing and innovation.
Milan Kundera

But in marketing, the
familiar is everything, and that is controlled by the studio. That is reaching
its apogee now.
Nicolas Roeg

But the business side of it, as with
most creative things, there is no room for business. It is about art. It’s not
about marketing.
Warren Cuccurullo

But, the thing is, since I always
had my own little shop and direct access to the public, I’ve been able to build
up a technique without marketing people ever telling me what the public wants.

Vivienne Westwood

By the immediate preservation of eggs for home
consumption through the use of water glass or lime water, larger supplies of
fresh eggs may be made available for marketing later in the season, when
production is less and prices higher.
David F. Houston

Did people
think I sounded black? Totally, but that was a marketing tool as well, but also
this is how I grew up and these are my influences.
Taylor Dayne

Don’t blame the marketing department. The buck stops with the chief
executive.
John D. Rockefeller

Everybody’s saturated with the
marketing hype of next-generation consoles. They are wonderful, but the truth is
that they are as powerful as a high end PC is right now.
John Carmack

Firms need to ensure that their ability to provide effective customer
service keeps pace with their growth. If you’re marketing your firm to new
customers, you better be able to provide them service when they do business with
you.
Arthur Levitt

Google actually relies on our users to help with
our marketing. We have a very high percentage of our users who often tell others
about our search engine.
Sergey Brin

His name, even, is part of the
marketing scheme, I mean, Thelonious Sphere Monk – how can you think of a better
name to fit his style of playing?
Matthew Shipp

Home base is the
support system where we have a culinary team, my own writers because of the
shows and the books and stuff, we have a culinary team of about six people.
Marketing, public relations, accounting and all that sort of stuff.
Emeril
Lagasse

I always thought marketing in general was an interesting kind of
thing. I always liked commercials and billboards. ~ Carrot Top

I avoid clients for whom advertising
is only a marginal factor in their marketing mix. They have an awkward tendency
to raid their advertising appropriations whenever they need cash for other
purposes.
David Ogilvy

I believe that music is connected by human
passions and curiosities rather than by marketing strategies.
Elvis Costello

I chose Sony Classics, not just because of their practical experience,
not just because of their wisdom in marketing, but mainly because of their
integrity.
Arthur Cohn

I do not believe in censorship, but I believe
we already have censorship in what is called marketing theory, namely the only
information we get in mainstream media is for profit.
Sam Sheppard

I
don’t need somebody behind a desk to tell me what a marketing survey says is
funny. I got 3 million miles and 70,000 tickets sold, telling me that I know how
to make people laugh.
D. L. Hughley

I had a marketing idea that
everybody hated, decency is sexy.
James L. Brooks

I just believe
that the cost of marketing is going to increase and the cost of delivery is
going to decrease as the Net gets stronger and mass media gets weaker.

Joichi Ito

I notice increasing reluctance on the part of marketing
executives to use judgment; they are coming to rely too much on research, and
they use it as a drunkard uses a lamp post for support, rather than for
illumination.
David Ogilvy

I see the same coffee table everywhere.
It’s mass marketing.
Douglas Wilson

I spent 10 years as a marketing
manager. I’ve found my experience in the financial world invaluable background
for writing about white-collar crimes.
Sara Paretsky

I think putting
labels on people is just an easy way of marketing something you don’t
understand.
Adam Jones

I was a pretty good coach and working with
marketing was like coaching.
Bernie Ebbers

I’m all for it. In these
days, regional marketing is the only way to survive.
John Howard

I’m
in the process of brainstorming with my marketing team and all that stuff,
trying to come up with a concept for a late-night restaurant for people in
Birmingham.
Ruben Studdard

I’m not a marketing person. I don’t ask
myself questions. I go by instinct.
Karl Lagerfeld

I’ve been careful
to keep my life separate because it’s important to me to have privacy and for my
life not to be a marketing device for a movie or a TV show. I’m worth more than
that.
Lisa Kudrow

In marketing I’ve seen only one strategy that
can’t miss – and that is to market to your best customers first, your best
prospects second and the rest of the world last.
John Romero

In
marketing you must choose between boredom, shouting and seduction. Which do you
want?
Roy H. Williams

In the past the publishers I’ve worked with
have been extremely generous. And in almost every case, have been people who
believed in the work rather than the sales and marketing.
Peter Sotos

Internal marketing is probably much more important than external
marketing. That’s even more true today than it’s ever been.
Tom
Stewart
It didn’t happen every time for every movie. Ruthless People was a
good movie, but we didn’t get a good release or marketing. They completely blew
the opening.
David Zucker

It is all about marketing; that is where
the real craft comes in. The best actors do not necessarily become the biggest
stars. And vice versa.
Dirk Benedict

It will take very sophisticated
marketing to achieve our aim of bringing more black people into the theater.

Alvin Ailey

It will work. I am a marketing genius.
Paris Hilton

Many dotcoms recruited people from existing companies who were quite
experienced in finance, marketing, distribution and other disciplines but not
necessarily experienced in the Web culture.
John Patrick

Marketing
is a very good thing, but it shouldn’t control everything. It should be the
tool, not that which dictates.
Nicolas Roeg

Marketing is the devil.

Billy Bob Thornton

Marketing is too important to be left to the
marketing department.
David Packard

Marketing is what gets you
noticed, and that side of it something – this side of it, if you like, doing
interviews – is the side of it that I least enjoy, and yet is 50% of the
project.
Rowan Atkinson

Marketing is what you do when your product
is no good.
Edwin Land

Money coming in says I’ve made the right
marketing decisions.
Adam Osborne

Music is always occurring. It is
just a matter of marketing, attention, and many other factors, that determines
whether people will hear these songs or not.
Judy Collins

My
relationship with Music Row has always been, from my end, optimistic and hopeful
that there is more than one way to approach the writing, recording, and
marketing of an album.
Deana Carter

No one in my family had a retail
or marketing background. They were professionals. They didn’t understand just
what I was doing by going into retailing. After I started, though, it got into
my blood. I knew this was what I wanted.
Andrea Jung

No, my
publisher has always done the marketing.
Jean M. Auel

Other than
that one year, Salon has been very cautious about the way it spends money. For
instance, since last year, we’ve had virtually no marketing budget. It’s just
word of mouth. And our circulation continues to grow that way by breaking news
stories.
David Talbot

Our co-founder and company president, Jim
Levy, came from a record industry background and understood the marketing and
promotion of artists as well as products. So the video game business went from
absolutely zero designer credit to something approaching rock star promotion.

David Crane

Pop culture is not about depth. It’s about marketing,
supply and demand, consumerism.
Trevor Dunn

Programmers and
marketing people know how to get into your subconscious – they spend millions of
dollars researching colors, shapes, designs, symbols, that affect your
preferences, and they can make you feel warm, trusting, like buying. They can
manipulate you.
Richard Hatch

Since I’m a mother and a wife, I have
to have passion or the frustration would win out. But I love managing people.
The product is second to managing the people. And marketing to consumers is so
challenging because it is evolving constantly.
Andrea
Jung

via The Green Marketing Company: Marketing Quotes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 5:24 pm

    “Love is the delusion that one woman differs from another.” ~ H. L. Mencken

  2. October 15, 2011 5:54 pm

    Oh my : Looks like you are doing well with this blog thing, well written content. It would be good for you if you could invest in some ads you know, you would get more visitors after all🙂. If you don’t have enough money, try to network with other similar sites and ask them for link exchange. Your blog has potential, people should see it😉 Have a nice day

Trackbacks

  1. Persuasive Advertising Theories. « The Green Marketing Company
  2. Advertising Tips & Tricks « The Green Marketing Company

Leave a Reply

